The Planets

Custom Search

Solar System:


Solar System



Planet Statistics


Phases of the Moon


Space Shuttle

Science Videos

Science Main Index


A planet is a large space object, which revolves around a star. There are eight planets and one dwarf planet in our solar system. The planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Pluto is a dwarf planet. Mercury is closest and Pluto is farthest from the sun.

The first four inner planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars) are relatively small and resemble the Earth in composition (rocky). The outer planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are large balls of gases with rings around them. Pluto is a small dwarf planet.

The Planets and Dwarf Planet

Top of Page

Planet Mercury

Planet Venus

Planet Earth

Planet Mars

Planet Jupiter
Mercury Venus Earth Mars Jupiter
Planet Saturn Planet Uranus

Planet Neptune

Dwarf Planet Pluto

Pictures are

not to scale

Saturn Uranus Neptune Pluto
(dwarf planet)










Copyright © 1998-2012 Kidport