Life in the Sea - Seals

Custom Search

Sea Life:

Seal Videos

Sea Lion Videos

Walrus Videos

Sea Life




Sea Birds

Sea Plants

Shell Fish

Whales and Dolphins

Fish Videos

Animal Videos

Science Videos

Science Main Index


The seals are marine mammals. The seal family includes the seal, sea lion and the walrus.

On this page:


Top of Page


There are about 30 species of seals. They all can be classified into two types: eared seals and true seals. Eared seals have ears that can be seen, and their flippers work well on land. True seals have tiny ears, and their flippers work better in the water.

Seals spend much of their time in water. But, they must return to the surface to breathe, just like other mammals.

A seal's respiratory system is adapted for water. A seal can go for 40 minutes without a breath. This allows them to dive to a depth of over 2,000 feet.

Seals are well designed to swim in water. Their bodies are very streamlined and their flippers propel them quickly through the water.

Seals also spend considerable time lying around on rocky islands and beaches. But they are clumsy and move slowly on land using their flippers.

Baby seals are born on land after a long, 12 month gestation period. The pups develop rapidly. Some are able to swim within a few hours of birth.

Walruses differ from seals in that they are larger and have large tusks. They can be over 10 feet long and over 3,000 pounds.


Books on Seals

Top of Page



Other links on Seals

Top of Page

Elephant Seal http://www.wonderclub.com/Wildlife/mammals/
Golden Seals http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/goldenseals/index.html

Top of Page

Copyright © 1998-2012 Kidport